The Model Aircraft Collector Forum

A friendly forum for hobbyists and collectors of die-cast and plastic kit aircraft replica models.

HomeHome  FAQFAQ  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 

Revell 1/72 Douglas A-20C Havoc H-115:130

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
pmmaker

PostSubject: Revell 1/72 Douglas A-20C Havoc H-115:130   Sun Mar 19 2017, 19:32

Kit: Revell 1/72 Douglas A-20C Havoc H-115:130

Markings: 2 sets of markings are given - decals to build a U.S.A.A.F. North African desert Havoc or a R.A.F. Boston

The build:  This kit was one of my "Holy Grail" kits that I wanted back when I was a budding kit builder, but I could never find.  Now thanks to the Internet and eBay, I was finally able to get this long sought after model.

The kit goes together really easily and poses no problems in assembly.  All the parts are well numbered and have little to no flash.  I built the kit straight out of the box as per the kit instructions.  Interior detailing is sparse so I added a bit of detailing to the interior spaces including bulkheads fabricated out of plastic card stock and instrument panels and guns.

Painting was done by hand and used Tamiya Dark Green, Dark Earth, and Medium Gray.  The aircraft was painted in a standard R.A.F. scheme and the R.A.F. roundel decals were applied.  Once the decals dried, the U.S. Operation Torch national markings were then applied over the British roundels.  Once these set and dried, the unique spotted U.S.A.A.F. camouflage pattern was hand painted over the existing R.A.F. scheme.  For this I used Tamiya Buff and I hand painted the irregular spotted pattern, including going over the roundels to get as close to the stars as possible while still leaving some of the underlying colors to be visible.  The canopy framing was masked and hand painted.

Overall, a really fun project that got me a plane I long wanted to make and have.

pmmaker

Migrant